One of the city's oldest squares, known since the 12th century, came to be called Bogoyavlenskaya relatively recently – in 1992. Under Soviet rule it was Podbelsky Square, and before that – Rozhdestvenskaya Square.
This is because in the 14th century there was a convent here called Rozhdestvensky. However, during the Polish siege of the city in 1609, it was burned down. Then the Church of the Nativity of the Mother of God was built in its place. Now it can no longer be seen on the square either: in 1930 it was demolished for obstructing traffic.
Over time, Bogoyavlenskaya Square did indeed grow into Yaroslavl's largest transportation hub. About a dozen buses and trolleybuses depart from here, and many of the city's streets also begin here.
Fortunately, the historical value of this place has also been preserved. Several old buildings stand around the square, in particular the former house of the Chepakhin merchants (house No. 2), the house of the ecclesiastical department (house No. 6), the so-called "House of Friendship" (house No. 8), Church of the Epiphany, the Diocesan Administration, and Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery.
In the very center of Bogoyavlenskaya Square stands the monument to Yaroslav the Wise – the city's founder. Local residents jokingly call it "Uncle with a Cake".











